Patrick Mahomes and Chris Jones Bring Home PFF 2022 Awards including MVP and Dwight Stephenson Award

Photo by Chris Donahue

Patrick Mahomes and Chris Jones already had a claim to royalty in the Red Kingdom, but the two Chiefs players earned additional recognition from Pro Football Focus, collectively bringing home five 2022 PFF Awards at the end of the regular NFL season.

While Mahomes is most Kansas Citians’ MVP every day, he also earned the MVP title from the 2022 PFF Awards:

According to Sam Monson, the lead NFL analyst for PFF, “The MVP race has been a battle all season long, but there has been one constant. First, it was Josh Allen versus Patrick Mahomes. Then, it was Tua Tagovailoa versus Mahomes, Jalen Hurts versus Mahomes, or even Joe Burrow versus Mahomes. But when one name is constant all the way through the season, that guy is the MVP.

Mahomes led the best offense in the NFL after having arguably the best receiver in the game removed from the team in the offseason. He sports a 91.3 PFF grade on the season and passed for 8.1 yards per attempt while making the kind of plays only he can.”

Mahomes also won the Dwight Stephenson Award:

“Often, PFF’s Stephenson Award—given to the best player in the NFL regardless of position—allows us to fix what’s wrong with MVP, focusing on how good a player is, not how valuable. This year, it is one and the same. Patrick Mahomes playing at his best is the best player in the league as well as the most valuable. Other players at other positions ran him close, but Mahomes is as deserving of this award as he is the MVP,” Monson wrote.

And he achieved Best Passer:

“There are a lot of ways to measure passing performance. No matter which you choose, Patrick Mahomes is rivaling any quarterback in the league. Whether it’s pure volume (more than 500 yards more than anyone else this season), efficiency (8.1 yards per attempt), tape-based play-by-play analysis (91.3 PFF grade), or the sheer creativity of his throws, Mahomes is there with the best in the league. He boasts the best composite skill set of any quarterback in football right now, and maybe of all time.”

Photo by Steve Sanders

Meanwhile, Jones earned the title of Defensive Player of the Year:

Monson wrote, “While all of the focus has been on the three elite edge rusher seasons, Chris Jones has been every bit as good as an interior force. With 77 total pressures, Jones tallied 14 more than any other interior pass rusher, and he even had snaps where he kicked out to rush around tackles from a true edge alignment at well north of 300 pounds.”

He also won the award for Best Pass Rusher:

“Like Defensive Player of the Year, all of the focus will go to the edge rushers, but Chris Jones was every bit their equal from an interior alignment, where he was a true game-wrecker all season long for Kansas City.

Jones tallied the most pressures (77) and the best pass-rush win rate (20.2%) of any interior rusher, with not a single one of his pressures being unblocked. He also had a massive 41 pass-rushing wins that didn’t get a chance to become pressure because the ball was thrown before it could.”

Meanwhile, the Chiefs appeared on the honorable mentions list for Best Team Offensive Line and Best Run Blocker (Creed Humphrey) too. 

Can we get a Let’s Goooooooo as the Chiefs head into the AFC Championship game against the Cincinnati Bengals on January 29? 

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed